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Course Coordinator ChecKklist

This checklist is designed to assist new or current Course Coordinators with creating a new
course site and submitting your course for state approval.

Section 1: Preparatory

This section is for coordinators who will be taking over as the lead course coordinator for their
location or those who are setting up a new training location. Please plan far enough ahead to
have this completed 2-3 months prior to the planned start date of your first course.

NREMT.org
e Add the Program Director Role to your NREMT account.

(0]
(0]

Login to your NREMT user account

On the Home page, click on your name and select Settings from the dropdown
On the Account Settings screen, locate Manage Rolls on the right side of the
screen and select Add Roles

Click Add Program Director Role

Read the pop-up statement and select Add Role

e Request Authorization of a New EMS Education Program

(0]
(0]
o

Under My Current Roll select Program Director

Click on Account Settings on the left-side menu

Under the Program Director Settings section, click of Request for EMS
Program Authorization

Click on Request Authorization of an EMS Education Program

Complete the electronic form, read the attestation statement, then click Submit
After you submit the New Program Request Form, it will be sent to the Office
of EMS and Preparedness for approval.

e Associate with an Existing EMS Program

(0]
(0]
o

Under My Current Roll select Program Director

Click on Account Settings on the left-side menu

Under the Program Director Settings section, click of Associate yourself with
an Existing EMS Education Program

Click on Request Authorization of an EMS Education Program

Under Authorizing State select Utah

Under Education Program select the school/program you wish to associate with
then click Submit at the bottom of the page

After you submit, it will be sent to the Office of EMS and Preparedness for
approval.
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Utah Office of EMS and Preparedness

e Request a new Training Location with the Office of EMS and Preparedness.
o Contact us at EMS@Utah.gov to schedule a site visit once the following has been

completed:

» Obtain adequate classroom space (see page 5 of the Course Coordinator

Manual)

» Collect all required training supplies (see page 28-33 of the Course

Coordinator Manual)

» Build the Course Schedule

= Develop a Course Syllabus

» Create a team of Endorsed EMS Instructors and Subject Matter Experts
=  Write or find an Americans with Disabilities Act Policy

=  Write or find a Sexual Harassment Policy
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https://bemsp.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/34/2022/09/Sept-2022-Course-Coordinator-Manual.docx-1.pdf
https://bemsp.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/34/2022/09/Sept-2022-Course-Coordinator-Manual.docx-1.pdf
https://bemsp.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/34/2022/09/Sept-2022-Course-Coordinator-Manual.docx-1.pdf
https://bemsp.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/34/2022/09/Sept-2022-Course-Coordinator-Manual.docx-1.pdf

Section 2: Course Requests

Course requests must be submitted to the Office of EMS and Preparedness no less than 30 days
prior to the start date of the course. If the course is submitted with less than 30 days until the start
date a fee of $10 per day, to a max of $150, will be added.

Courses requests submitted with less than 10 business days until the scheduled start date may not
have enough time to undergo the approval process, and as such may be denied.

EMSlIlicense.Utah.gov

e (reate a New Course Request

o Follow the New Course Request Quick Reference Guide to create a course

o Documents that must be submitted for course approval:

» Course Schedule: This should list the primary instructor, medical director,

and course location. It should also include dates, times, and the instructor
for each day/topic.

» Course Syllabus: This should have information about the details of the

course, the course textbook, and all online resources. The syllabus will
often also contain class policies and rules such as grading, dress code,
technology in the classroom, etc.

* Americans with Disabilities Act Policy: Can be included in the syllabus.

» Sexual Harassment Policy: Can be included in the syllabus.
o Please remember!
» Instructors MUST have a current Instructor Endorsement from the Utah
Office of EMS and Preparedness
» Instructors can only teach to their level — for example, an instructor with
an EMT license cannot help teach an AEMT course
* You must have at least 1 Endorsed Instructor for every 6 students — this

ratio is required for all hands-on skills practice and pass-off sessions
e (lass size minimum: 2
e (lass size maximum: 36

= Students are required to have an approved CPR card before they can start

the course. CPR cannot be considered part of the state approved course.
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https://bemsp.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/34/2021/10/new_course_request_quick_reference_guide.pdf

AEMT and Paramedic students MUST be currently licensed as a Utah

EMT prior to being enrolled in the course. The license must be maintained
and current throughout the course and testing process. If the license lapses
prior to licensing at the new level, they will not be able to obtain the new
license.

Any changes to the course schedule must be documented and submitted to

the Office of EMS and Preparedness for review
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Section 3: After Your Course Begins

Student Applications

e Have each student create an account on the Utah licensing website emslicense.utah.gov
o On the left side navigation menu, students should click on Applications
o Students should select the appropriate application for their course (EMR, EMT,
AEMT, or Paramedic) and click Apply Now
o Have them fill in all required information on the application

= Government ID, a passport style photo (or headshot), and CPR card are

required
o Students should affiliate with the course ID number (if it is not found, they can
leave this section blank and the course coordinator can manually add students
later)
o All applicable fees should be paid as soon as possible
e After the students have completed their applications, the Course Coordinator should log
onto emslicense.utah.gov to confirm the students are on the roster

Criminal Background Check

e The Office of EMS and Preparedness requires that all personnel seeking initial licensing
submit LiveScan fingerprints for Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and Direct
Access Clearance System (DACS) background checks

o A list of fingerprint locations is sent to all applicants with the information on how
to complete their DACS form — have the students check their email periodically
for this information (including their spam folder)

e Students who procrastinate the LiveScan requirement risk a delay in their approval for
the NREMT written exam

Important Time Frames

e Within 15 days of course start date:
o Send a completed student roster to EMS(@utah.gov with legal names and provider
license number if applicable
e Within 30 days of the course start date:
o Student applications must be completed, and fees paid.

= Each student who has not paid within 30 days will be assessed a $75 late

fee
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Section 4: Upon Course Completion

Utah

e Documenting Course Completions

o

O O O O

Login to emslicense.utah.gov

On the left side menu select Manage

From the new selections click Courses

Choose the appropriate course from the course list

Under Attendees you will be able to select students and then use the Bulk
Actions button at the bottom to select Pass, Fail, In Process, etc. for each group of
students

e The following must be received by the Office of EMS and Preparedness at
EMS@Utah.gov within 15 days of course completion

O

(@)

(@)

NREMT

A course recommendation letter that includes:
» Alist of all students who are being recommended for licensure

* Documentation that the students have shown competence in all required

psychomotor skills and competencies

» Course Coordinator signature

» Medical Director signature for AEMT and Paramedic level courses

Letters for students who are not recommended should include:
» Student name
» A brief explanation as to why the student is not being recommended
» Course Coordinator signature

» Medical Director signature for situations where it is applicable
If there were any changes to the original schedule, attach a copy of the final
course schedule

e Course Completion on NREMT.org

O

O O O O

After logging in, under My Current Role navigate to Program Director

Under Manage Candidates select Course Completion Verification

Select the appropriate course level from the dropdown

For each student, select the appropriate action as described

Any missing students should be reached out to about creating an NREMT account
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e Authorization To Test (ATT) — This should be done prior to the completion of the course.
Once students have shown that they are ready to take the psychomotor exam, this process
should be completed.

O

O O O O O

After logging in, under My Current Role navigate to Program Director

Under Manage Candidates sclect Early Eligibility Verification

Select the appropriate EMS Program from the dropdown

Select the appropriate course level from the dropdown then click Select

For each student, select the appropriate action as described

Any missing students should be reached out to about creating an NREMT account
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Section 5: Requesting an NREMT Psychomotor Exam

This section applies only to AEMT and Paramedic Courses

e Add the Program Director Role to your NREMT account.
Login to your NREMT user account
On the Home page, click on your name and select Settings from the dropdown
On the Account Settings screen, locate Manage Rolls on the right side of the
screen and select Add Roles
Click Add Program Director Role
Read the pop-up statement and select Add Role
o Add the Exam Coordinator Role to your NREMT account.
Login to your NREMT user account
On the Home page, click on your name and select Settings from the dropdown
On the Account Settings screen, locate Manage Rolls on the right side of the
screen and select Add Roles
o Click Add Exam Coordinator Role
o Read the pop-up statement and select Add Role
e Schedule with an NREMT Test Proctor
o Search for a local NREMT Test Proctor - NREMT Representatives
o Reach out using the contact information provided and schedule with the proctor a
time and location that will work
o Work with the proctor to prepare all needed equipment and space needs
e Schedule the exam on NREMT.org
o The NREMT has a great document available for this process.

» Scheduling a Psychomotor Exam
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https://my.nremt.org/rwd/examination/nremt-reps
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/Psychomotor%20Exam%20Scheduling%20Update.pdf

